About Us

Mission

The Global Liberal Arts Alliance is an international partnership of colleges and universities advancing liberal arts education within the contexts of its member institutions. The Alliance fosters a community of institutional leaders, faculty, staff, and students to address the pressing intellectual, social, political, educational and cultural issues of the highly globalized twenty-first century.

The Alliance fulfills its mission by:

  • Strengthening the ability of our liberal arts institutions to operate effectively and globally; and,
  • Facilitating global course, curricular, co-curricular connections and scholarly activities among our institutions, and the mobility of students, faculty, staff, and leadership within the Alliance network.

GLCA Management

The Great Lakes Colleges Association (GLCA) is the founder and administrator of the Global Alliance. Chartered in the state of Michigan (USA) and incorporated as a 501(c)(3) non-profit in 1962, it has been governed since its founding by a Board of Directors and charged with working on behalf of its member institutions, a consortium of thirteen private liberal arts colleges located in Indiana, Michigan, Ohio and Pennsylvania.

InstitutionLiaisonTitleEmail
Al Akhawayn University in IfraneVioletta Cavalli-SforzaAssistant Vice President of Academic AffairsV.Cavallisforza@aui.ma
Albion CollegeMidori YoshiInternational Studies Programmyoshii@albion.edu
Allegheny CollegeTerry BenselAssociate Provost, Director of The Allegheny Gateway, Professor of Environmental Sciencetbensel@allegheny.edu
Antioch CollegeLuisa BieriAssistant Profess or Cooperative Educationlbieri@antiochcollege.edu
Ashesi UniversityStephen ArmahDepartment Head, Business Administrationsearmah@ashesi.edu.gh
Bratislava International School of Liberal ArtsLucia SulikovaAssistant to the Rectorsulikova@bisla.sk
Denison UniversityTaku SuzukiAssociate Professor of East Asian Studies; Director of International Studiessuzukit@denison.edu
DePauw UniversityDavid AlvarezAssociate Professor of Englishdavidalvarez@depauw.edu
Earlham CollegeKari KalveProfessor of Englishkalveka@earlham.edu
Effat UniversityHaifa Jamal Al-LailPresidenthjamalallail@effatuniversity.edu.sa
Flame UniversityRenu DhadwalAssociate Professor of Mathematicsrenu.dhadwal@flame.edu.in
Forman Christian CollegeRukhsana ZiaDirector of Teaching and Learning Centerrukhsanazia@fccollege.edu.pk
Franklin University SwitzerlandAnn GardinerHead of the Writing and Learning Centeragardiner@fus.edu
Hope CollegeDeirdre JohnstonAssociate Dean of Global Education; Professor of Communicationjohnston@hope.edu
International Christian UniversityChristopher BondySenior Associate Professor of Sociology; Coordinator for Japan Studiesbondy@icu.ac.jp
International University of Grand-BassamAhmed LegrouriVice President for Academic Affairslegrouri.a@iugb.edu.ci
John Cabot UniversityMary MervaVice President and Dean of Academicsmmerva@johncabot.edu
Kalamazoo CollegeChristine HahnAssociate Provost and Associate Professor of Art and Art Historychahn@kzoo.edu
Kenyon CollegeIrene LopezAssociate Professor of Psychology and Women and Gender Studieslopezi@kenyon.edu
Lingnan UniversityShalendra SharmaAssociate Vice Presidentshalendrasharma@ln.edu.hk
Oberlin CollegeTania BosterDirector, Bonner Center Curricular Initiatives; Director Bonner Center and Gertrude B. Lemle Teaching Center; Assistant Professor of Historytboster@oberlin.edu
Ohio Wesleyan UniversityNancy ComorauAssociate Professor of Englishnacomora@owu.edu
The American College of GreeceAntonis KlidasDepartment Head, International Businessa.klidas@acg.edu
The American University in BulgariaRobert WhiteDean of the Facultyrwhite@aubg.edu
The American University in CairoDahlia El TayebDean of Cooperative, Experiential, and International Educationdahlia.tayeb@aucegypt.edu
The American University of NigeriaJennifer LofkrantzAssociate Professor of World
History
jennifer.lofkrantz@aun.edu.ng
The American University of ParisRebekah RastDirector, Teaching and Learning Centerrrast@aup.edu
Universidad San Francisco de QuitoAlexandra VelascoInternational Programs Office Directoravelasco@usfq.edu.ec
The College of WoosterSarah SobeckAssociate Professor of Chemistryssobeck@wooster.edu
Wabash CollegeAgata Szczeszak-BrewerAssociate Professor of Englishbrewera@wabash.edu 

GLCA Staff

Mickey McDonald

Simon J. M. Gray

Colleen Monahan Smith

Derek S. Vaughan

Gregory R. Wegner

Charla J. White

Mickey McDonald

President

Michael (Mickey) McDonald is the president of the Great Lakes Colleges Association. He joined the GLCA staff on July 1, 2018. Just prior to joining the GLCA, Mickey served ten years as Provost of Kalamazoo College, including one term as Acting President, and before that he was a professor of mathematics and served in various administrative roles at Occidental College in Los Angeles. Mickey earned a B.S. from Davidson College and a Ph.D. in mathematics from Duke University.

Simon J. M. Gray

Program Officer, Global Liberal Arts Alliance

As Program Officer, Simon’s primary responsibility is programming for the Global Liberal Arts Alliance and currently oversees the Global Crossroads grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. He also works with GLCA faculty and staff groups. Prior to joining GLCA in July 2015, Simon taught Computer Science at The College of Wooster. Simon earned a B.A. in anthropology and philosophy and an M.A. in anthropology from the University of Virginia, then a Ph.D. in computer science from Kent State University.

Colleen Monahan Smith

Assistant to the President

Colleen is assistant to the president and works on event planning for the Global Liberal Arts Alliance, Board of Directors, Deans’ Council, special summits and other meetings. She also is a coordinator of the New Writers Award. Previously, she worked as a Legislative Director on Capitol Hill in Washington D.C. Colleen earned her BS from Santa Clara University in Northern California where she studied Political Science with minors in Spanish and International Studies. Colleen joined the Great Lakes Colleges Association in 2012.

Derek S. Vaughan

Vice President for Finance and Administration

Derek S. Vaughan is the Vice President for Finance and Administration where he serves as the chief financial and operating officer. He also serves as the program officer for several groups including Chief Financial Officers, Institutional Researchers, HR Officers, Chief Information Technology Officers, and Tuition Remission Exchange Officers. Additionally, Derek serves as the administrator for the consortial Tuition Remission Exchange (TRE) program and the primary data sharing officer. Derek earned a BS in math and a BBA in quantitative business analysis from Ohio University, an MS in student personnel services and an MBA in organizational behavior from Miami University, and a PhD in higher education administration from the University of Michigan. Prior to joining the GLCA in 2004, Derek held positions in student affairs at Northwestern University, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, and Miami University.

Gregory R. Wegner

Director of Program Development

As a program officer, Greg has helped develop, refine, and oversee several faculty development programs since joining the GLCA in January 2003 – including the Mellon-funded Expanding Collaboration Initiative, the GLCA Academic Leadership Institute (GALI), and the Teagle-funded GLCA/GLAA Consortium for Teaching and Learning. Previous positions included Associate Director of the Pew Higher Education Roundtable, based at the University of Pennsylvania. He is co-author (with Robert Zemsky and William F. Massy) of Remaking the American University: Market-Smart and Mission Centered. He studied English and American literature, with a B.A. from Alma College, M.A. from the University of Michigan, and Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania.

Charla J. White

Program Officer, Controller

Charla White is a program officer and controller at the GLCA. Charla works closely with administrative and diversity groups, secures logistics for domestic meetings, helps the VP for Finance and Administration monitor and enforce policies and procedures, and assists in the auditing process. Charla was previously employed at Earlham College where she worked in the Student Life area and the grant funded Odyssey Program for rural, first-generation, college-bound students. Charla holds a Master’s Degree in Education with a focus on assessment and evaluation (American InterContinental University, 2010) and a Bachelor of Arts in English (Earlham College, 2008). Charla came to GLCA in 2002 following her work at Earlham College.